Skip to content

The Time For Change is Now

August 15, 2011

Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world; indeed, it’s the only thing that ever has.” -Margaret Mead

I came across this quote a couple of weeks ago and immediately posted it to the Volunteer San Diego Facebook. The message is one that transcends generations but it seemed particularly fitting given the current global economic climate.  Whether you understand terms like “debt ceiling” or not, most of us know that we are living in uncertain times right now and it can be just plain scary. We are all feeling the pinch in our wallets these days and it seems like the money we have just doesn’t take us as far as it used to. I believe that in times like these, volunteering and volunteerism become even more important and relevant. If we as a society can go back to the days of helping our neighbors (i.e. volunteering) then we will be able to pull ourselves out of this financial mess.

And I know what you are thinking. “So you’re saying that the answer to the world’s financial problems is to volunteer?”

Well, not entirely, but I think it’s a start. I think it is imperative that we remember how to help each other without always expecting something monetary in return.

We have all heard the phrase “be the change that you want to see in the world” and now is the time to do just that. Lately, I have found myself waking up every morning and turning on the news to see if there have been any changes while I get ready for work. A couple of days ago I was going through this exact routine when I realized that I was expecting change in the world without making any changes myself. So, I have decided to lead by example by committing to making time to volunteer and I ask that you contemplate doing the same. After all, it’s easy! Just take a look at the calendar on the Volunteer San Diego website, pick a day/time/volunteer event that works for you and then just show up. Those small steps will end up making a bigger impact than you could ever imagine.

We are saving the world, one act of volunteerism at a time.

-Ciera Davis, Social Media Assistant

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 15, 2011 10:43 am

    Through volunteering a person can get more than a monetary benefit . I think its more about feeding your heart. Volunteering is more fun and fulfilling and always leaves with certain level of new findings, experience and outcome of community benefit.

Leave a Reply

